Turning back the clock

Candles spell out the traditional English birt...

Image via Wikipedia

Fun fact: this year I will knock a year off my age on my birthday.

I only got to be 25 for 10 days. When I moved to Korea I had to start telling people my Korean age, 27.

Confused? Allow me to break it down for you:  In Canada, when we are born our age is measured in weeks and months until our first birthday.  In Korea, when children are born they turn one.  Then, they gain a year every January 1st. So, had I been born in Korea, I would have turned 2 on January 1st, 1985. In Canada I was barely 2 weeks old.

Still confused? Don’t worry; it took me a long time and some help from co-workers before I figured out how old I was. I would have gladly just ignored it, but age is very important in Korean society. It’s one of the first thing that anyone asks when meeting new people.

Anyhow, I will be leaving Korea on my birthday this year. This means that instead of going from 25 to 26, I will be regressing from 27 to 26.  Take THAT, mother nature!

EDIT: WordPress wants me to tag this post with “Hillary Rodham Clinton,” which cracks me up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

